The Bookshelf

You can find a majority of these books for purchase at the UConn Co-op. If you cannot find a link to purchase a book here, you can try special ordering through the Co-op.

Books by Students

Long River Review

The Long River Review is a collection of poetry, prose, and artwork by UConn students from many different majors and branch campuses. Check out the Long River Review’s Where to Buy page to find out where to obtain your copy.

Books by Faculty

Gina Barreca

Founding Editor and Co-Editor of LIT: LITERATURE INTERPRETATION THEORY (Routledge).

Specialties: 20th-Century British literature, women’s writing and feminist literary theory, the novel, creative writing.

Julie Choffel

The Hello Delay by Julie Choffel, Mei-Mei Berssenbrugge:

The Hello Delay asks what happens around the saying of a thing and the receiving. Inside and outside of our daily communications, there are events, there are silences, déjà-vus, and intentions. These poems question the determined nature of our relationships to one another. . . . In this human ecology, language is king. In this book, familiarity resides in memory or song, but perhaps nothing is so familiar as the experience of the present. What is it then to be present, when meaning persists among us? We are more than what we say and what we think, but these words are the lucite passages we travel to that aggregate. In this place where understanding means being wrong together or just pretending to be right, Choffel’s poems honor the grandeur, the danger, and the mediocrity in manifesting what we make up as we go along. The Hello Delay might be experimental, but it is mostly experiential. It calls us out not to see how we will answer but to linger in the gaps of our refrain.

Bruce Cohen

Bruce Cohen’s poems have appeared in literary periodicals such as AGNI, The Georgia Review, The Harvard Review, Ploughshares, Poetry and The Southern Review. They have also been featured on Poetry Daily and Verse Daily. He has published two books: Disloyal Yo-Yo (Dream Horse Press), which was awarded the 2007 Orphic Poetry Prize, and Swerve (Black Lawrence Press). A recipient of a grant from the Connecticut Commission on the Arts, he directs the Counseling Program for Intercollegiate Athletes at the University of Connecticut.

Peggie Dietz-Shea

The Carpet Boy’s Gift. Leadership comes easily for Nadeem, the biggest and oldest boy in a rug factory in Pakistan. But how can he lead the other child laborers to freedom after he’s been shamed and beaten for his first attempt? Nadeem and his fellow workers are bonded laborers, children who work day and night to pay off loans their families have accepted from a factory owner. While Nadem and his cousin Amina take pride in helping their poor families, they feel trapped. They yearn to go to school and to have time to play. One day a former carpet boy named Iqbal Masih leads a parade in the village. New laws have abolished bonded labor! Iqbal urges Nadeem to fight for freedom and to lead the children to a new school in town. Can Nadeem summon the courage to try again? This fictional story honors the legacy of Iqbal Masih, a real boy who had escaped from a factory. Protected and educated, he worked to liberate child workers like Nadeem by the thousands. His work won him the Reebok Youth in Action award and special recognition at the International Labor Conference. When he returned to Pakistan after his trip, he was fatally shot while riding his bicycle. He was only twelve, but he had already made a difference in children’s lives all over the world. Resources at the end of the story lead to more information about child labor issues and encourage children to support companies that work to make the world a better place for all.

Darcie Dennigan

Assistant Professor in Residence, Poet. Storrs. Specialties: Poetry, Creative Writing

Sean Frederick Forbes

Providencia: a book of poems, 2Leaf Press, 2013.

PROVIDENCIA, Sean Frederick Forbes’s debut poetry collection, offers deeply personal poetry that digs beneath the surface of family history and myth. This coming of age narrative traces the experience of a gay, mixed-race narrator who confronts the traditions of his parents’ and grandparents’ birthplace: the seemingly idyllic island of Providencia, Colombia against the backdrop of his rough and lonely life in Southside Jamaica, Queens. These lyric poems open doors onto a third space for the speaker, one that does not isolate or hinder his sexual, racial, and artistic identities. Written in both free verse and traditional poetic forms, PROVIDENCIA conjures numerous voices, images, and characters to explore the struggles of self-discovery. Cover Art by Holly Turner. With an introduction by V. Penelope Pelizzon.

Ellen Litman

Assistant Professor; Associate Director of Creative Writing. Storrs.  Specialties: 20th-Century American literature, ethnic American literature (Russian; immigrant), the novel (20th-21st Century, Russian novel), creative writing (fiction)

V. Penelope Pelizzon

Associate Professor. Storrs. Specialties: Poetry and poetics, creative nonfiction, 20th-Century American and Anglo-Irish literature, film studies, 19th- and 20th-Century visual culture.

Current Research: New poems and essays.

Sydney Plum

Solitary Goose. In the fall of 1996 Sydney Plum encountered a solitary Canada goose on a pond near her home in New England. Caring for the animal became a way for her to reconnect with nature. Walks to the pond were daily rituals–reflective times during which Plum thought about the relationships between humans and animals. Mixing memoir with closely observed nature writing, Plum searches for a deeper understanding of what was changed by the experience with the solitary goose she named SG. In the tradition of Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, Plum writes lyrical lessons on the life cycle of geese, the mystery of their great migratory patterns, and their amazing adaptability. Canada geese were not always so plentiful in the United States, she explains, nor were they always denigrated as “flying carp.” Plum shows how species-management programs reestablished the birds outside their previous range at the same time as golf courses, office parks, and suburban ponds began dotting the countryside, providing them with prime habitats where they were unwanted.

Memories of breaking holes in the ice for SG to escape predators turn Plum’s thoughts toward what it means to nurture. Coming to terms with how SG thinks leads Plum to examine anthropomorphism in nature writing. In contrast to the metaphors through which we commonly view nature, Plum argues that science combined with metaphor is a better way to understand animals. Though Plum’s focus is generously outward toward nature, this book also reveals an inner journey through which, as she describes it, “the enclosures of my human life had been opened. I had become more susceptible to the kindnesses of birds.