Contest Winners 2019-2020

Congratulations to the winners of the

English Department’s

2019-2020 Creative Writing Awards!


The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Prose Winner/$2,000: Ryan Amato for “Pavane”

Honorable Mention: Ryan Amato for “Between the World’s Oceans”


Poetry Winner/$2,000: Lili Fishman for “Untitled”

Honorable Mention: Daniel Mitola for “On Nemesis”


The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First place/$1,000: Kelly Rafferty for “The In-Between”

Second place/$300: Alexander Mika for “Carnival”

Third Place/$200: Kate Burns for “Don’t Trust”


Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First place/$1,000: Daniel Healy

Second place/$500: Julia Brush

Third place/$250: Matthew Ryan Shelton

(Honorable Mentions: Kelly Rafferty and

Olivia Baldwin)


The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner/$250: Kelly Rafferty for “What is Forever? A Cosmic Egg Cosmology”

Honorable Mention: Ellen Fuller for “The Forgetting Pool”


The Aetna Translation Award

Winner/$250: Ain Jeong for “Riverboat”

Honorable Mentions: Kacper Haase for “Uncertainty” and

Matthew Ryan Shelton for “Atemwende”


The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First Prize/$250: Aner Bajraktarevic for “deep down bad”


Graduate First Prize/$250: Quinn Molloy for “The Place”


Long River Review Graduate Writing Award

Winner/$250: Maurice Rodriguez

Honorable Mention: Sandy Athenaise Durosier



The Edwin Way Teale Awards for Nature Writing

Three winners/$100 each: Risa Lewis for “Invisible Ink”

Justine Phillips-Galluci for “Universe & Me”

Sydney Guerrera for “Overflooding”