Winners of the 2017-18 Creative Writing Awards

Congratulations to the winners of the

English Department’s

2017-2018 Creative Writing Awards!


The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Prose Winner/$2,000: Jasmine Smith for “Canaan”

(Honorable Mention: Rebecca Hill for “Watering Flowers”)

Poetry Winner/$2,000: Amanda McCarthy for “A Story”

(Honorable Mention: Raeann Veronesi for “Fifth of the Four”)


The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First place/$1,000: Lucie Turkel for “Fourth of July”

Second place/$300: Rebecca Hill for “Watering Flowers”

Third Place/$200: Benjamin Eng for “Summer’s End”

Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First place/$1,000: Erin Lynn

Second place/$500: Matthew Ryan Shelton

Third place/$250: Ricardo Alvelo

(Honorable Mention: Christiana Ares-Christian)

The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner/$250: Kristina Reardon for “Nina’s Wall”

The Aetna Translation Award

Winner/$250: Robyn Lerebours for “The Waterwheel”

(Honorable Mentions: Kristina Reardon for “The Unicorn” and Alexandra Yang for “In Our Home in Palestine”

The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First prize/$150: Kaylee Thurlow for “Spinning Mind but with a Small Body”

(Honorable Mentions/$50 each: Brianna McNish for “Notes on Violet” and Kimberly Yrayta for “All American Cheeseburger”)

Graduate First Prize, /$250: Brian Sneeden for “Inconvenient Magic”

Long River Graduate Writing Award

Winner/$250: Kristina Reardon for “When Frank Sinatra Came to Town”

(Honorable Mentions: Kathryn Warrender for “The Naming Ritual” and

Mollie Kervick for “Falling in Love is Fattening”)


Sean Frederick Forbes, PhD

Director, Creative Writing Program
Assistant Professor-in-Residence
Department of English
University of Connecticut
215 Glenbrook Road U-4025
Storrs, CT 06269-4025
(860) 486-2324