2017 Creative Writing Contest Winners

Congratulations to the winners of the English Department’s 2016-2017 Creative Writing Awards!


The Edward R. and Frances Schreiber Collins Literary Prizes

Prose Winner/$2,000: Breanna Patterson for “The Times”

(Honorable Mention: Stephanie Koo for “Where Do Birds Go to Die?”)


Poetry Winner/$2,000: Emma Kraner for “Uffizi Gallery”

(Honorable Mention: Emma Kraner for “Dissection”)


The Jennie Hackman Memorial Prize for Fiction

First place/$1,000: Lilia Shen for “The Picasso House”

Second place/$300: Sten Spinella for “Angus”

Third Place/$200: Jeremiah Dennehy for “Constance”

(Honorable Mention: Brianna McNish for “In Another Life”)


Wallace Stevens Poetry Contest

First place/$1,000: Anna Ziering

Second place/$500: Brian Sneeden

Third place/$250: Jillian Cundari

(Honorable Mentions: Akshayaa Chittibabu and Samantha Bassman)


The Aetna Children’s Literature Award

Winner/$250: Jameson Croteau for “Moon Bound”


The Aetna Translation Award

Winner/$250: Matthew Ryan Shelton for “Transubstantiation”

(Honorable Mention: Matthew Ryan Shelton for “Etched Away”)


The Aetna Creative Nonfiction Awards

Undergraduate First prize/$250: Noah Bukowski for “Guilt Treament”

(Honorable Mention/$100: Kiana Cao for “My Home, Your Home”)


Graduate First Prize /$250: Nyanka Joseph for “Marrow and Mopping”


Long River Graduate Writing Award

Winner/$250: Kristina Reardon for “Crumbling Walls”